A DUI Defense Attorney Can Advocate on Your Behalf
A DUI (driving under the influence) charge can carry serious penalties and have a lifelong impact. Our team of lawyers will work tirelessly for you to help you understand your rights, explore your legal options, and negotiate with the prosecution if needed. We work diligently to prepare a sound DUI defense for our clients to help secure a reduced charge or sentence. If you have been charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in Lafayette, LA, contact our law firm to work with one of our attorneys.
What is a DUI or DWI?
Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) are similar charges. A DWI generally refers to intoxication from alcohol while a DUI encompasses both alcohol and drugs. In the state of Louisiana, drivers are considered drunk if they have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher (0.02 for drivers under 21). Driving under the influence of drugs is confirmed with a blood test, and there is no predetermined percentage that confirms levels of impairment.
What are the Legal Consequences of a DUI in Louisiana?
The penalties for a first-offense DUI are harsh in Louisiana. As a first-time offender, you face:
- License suspension for 90 days
- Attend and complete alcohol or substance abuse education programs
- Minimum of two days in jail or a maximum of six months in jail
- Fines between $300 and $1,000, plus the cost of court fees and other charges
- DUI conviction remains on record for 10 years
Our attorneys have defended many clients charged with DUI, and we can help you if you believe you have been wrongfully charged.
Penalties for a second offense vary depending on the amount of time that has passed since the first offense. A judge can look back up to 10 years when determining criminal penalties such as jail time and five years for license suspension and alcohol programs. If your second offense occurs within a year of your first offense, you may face even harsher penalties. For a second offense DUI, you may face:
- Minimum of 30 days in jail with a maximum of 6 months in jail
- Up to $1,000 in fines, plus court costs and other fees
- License suspension for up to one year
- License restrictions with an ignition interlock device (IID) for up to six months after reinstatement
- Increased insurance premiums and a required SR-22 insurance policy for three years after conviction
- Attend driving school and substance abuse evaluation program
- Perform up to 240 hours of community service
How Our Attorneys Can Help
When you contact our attorneys, we can thoroughly investigate the charges against you and any evidence. Our investigation may determine that unlawful search and seizure took place, which can help you avoid unnecessary penalties and expenses. We can negotiate with the prosecution on your behalf to get you the most beneficial sentence possible.
Common DUI Defenses
Our attorneys have defended many clients charged with DUI, and we can help you if you believe you have been wrongfully charged. There are affirmative defenses, such as you believed the effects of a prescription medication had sufficiently worn off so you could safely drive. Involuntary intoxication, such as a spiked punchbowl, is another common example of an affirmative defense. We also carefully analyze the administration and chain of custody of any evidence against you to determine if actions by the police were unlawful.
Call Our Office Today
If you have been accused of DUI, contact our attorneys today for an in-depth review of your case. In many cases, our team of attorneys can help reduce the charge or the sentence you may receive.